Latest News




With word of how fast the course is obviously getting around with a larger turn out for round 2 of the Tint A Car Night Criterium Series. Three good fields again raced under lights on the fast Kwinana Motorplex circuit.


The C Grade led off with a good field of 25 riders in another warm windless night.  No serious attacks were launched in the first 20 minutes. When Jeff Jorgensen, Oliver Saare and Michael Polmear put 50m on the peloton.  Debutant Neil Webster dug deep to bridge across and with 7min to go this group had grown to 7 riders.  This group held the peloton off to finish clear with Oliver Saare taking 1st place from Mark Glorie, Neil Webster and Lennon McLintock in 4th.  Amanda Nabi claimed the prize money for the first woman across the line.


The B Grade jumped straight out of the blocks with Conor Sherwin and Andrew Simpson breaking away almost immediately and not allowing the peloton to settle in to any early tempo.  They were eventually brought back to the field and then John Gilbertson and Andrew Lumley resumed the pressure with an attack at the 24 min mark.  By the 30min mark John Gilbertson had dropped back into the bunch but Andrew Lumley had been joined by Joel Hodgson and Colin Rose with what looked like the race winning move.  But by the last lap they had also been reeled in and the peloton steadied for a sprint finish which was won by Tim Dalgliesh. Luke Banham came home 2nd, Hugo Galante 3rd and Andrew Lumley 4th.  Shannon Sherwin took out the prize money for the first female home after challenging herself by stepping up to the A Grade women.


A moderate size but definitely quality A Grade field were still all together after 10mins but the pace was hot.  Travis Meyer put the acid on the field with a strong attack with Michael Fitzgerald at the 20min mark.  By the 25min mark this gap had opened up to 150m with the peloton not able to sustain full blooded efforts to close them down. At the 30min mark Guy Kalma put it all on the line and tried to bridge the gap but couldn’t sustain the effort and after 2 laps out alone dropped back to the pack before eventually withdrawing.


Travis and Michael continue to work together and were holding the peloton at 25 seconds.  The peloton never really got organised so it was left to Travis and Michael to fight out the finish. With Travis probably done a marginally greater share of the work Michael was able to take the sprint for a strong win from Travis.  Jackson Mawby broke away from the field in the final stretches to take 3rd place.


The generous prize money is possible thanks to the Tint A Car sponsorship of the series.


The series continues with a day time criterium at the SpeedDome in Midvale this Sunday (8 Dec) morning prior to the State Track Championships.  The highlight there will be Cam and Travis Meyer contesting the Madison.  This will be a fantastic event as the quality A Graders will be looking to test themselves against these two established international champions.


Then we are back under lights at the Motorplex for the final of the series on Thursday 12 December.