Latest News


The #RoatNats were held from January 3-7 in Ballarat, Victoria to crown Australia’s best on road cyclists.

Elite, U23 and U19 Road Race – Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th January

WA’s Tyler Lindorff saluted a fantastic RoadNats in Ballarat taking a win in the U19 Road Race.

It was a fantastic campaign for Lindorff, who also finished second in the Individual time trial.

The 17-year-old will now don the Australian colours after claiming the coveted green and gold jersey as part of the Road Nationals in the first week of January.

In the same race WA had Timothy Harvey who was 12th, Aron Barclay 15th, Matthew Harvey 16th, Kieran Scott 20th, Sebastian Barrett 22nd while Chester Hinton started the race.

In the elite men’s road race, Ben O’Connor was the best placed from WA in 11th position after he tried to attack late several times. South Australia’s Alex Edmondson won the race. Luke Durbridge crashed during the race,

Cam Meyer worked hard for the team all day and finished 15th. Michael Freiberg was 29th and Michael Storer was 33rd.

Anthony Giacoppo, Jackson Mawby, Robert Power, Theo Yates, Mathew Upton, Patrick Saccani-Williams all started the race.

Jessica Allen (21st) was the highest place West Australian in the elite women’s road race which was won by Shannon Malseed.

Rebecca Mackey was 40th, Erin Nolan 46th and Melissa Robinson, Sarah Tucknott and Erin Kinnealy started the race.

Emily Mascaro started the under 19s road race.

Reece Tucknott took fifth place in the Under 23 Road Race and the KOM jersey, Cyrus Monk won the race.

Jordan Schmidt was 22nd, Richard Maher 43rd, Henry Pennell 45th, Sam Welsford 46th, Craig Wiggins 47th, Tom McCracken 56th, Bryce Lanigan 64th, Jonathan Lewis 67th and Timothy Sellar 71st.

Time trial – Thursday 4th and Friday 5th January 

Luke Durbridge claimed a silver medal in the elite men’s individual time trial which was won by BMC’s Rohan Dennis and Richie Porte took home third.

Freiberg finished seventh in the time trial and Ben O’Connor was 10th. Patrick Saccani-Williams finished the day in 16th position.

Tyler Lindorff finished second to Luke Plapp in the Under 19 individual time trial.

Rebecca Mackey finished eighth in the elite women’s time trial with Katrin Garfoot taking home the win.

Emily Mascaro finished ninth in the under 19s women’s individual time trial.

Sam Welsford finished in the top 10 in the under 23 individual time trial with Callum Scotson taking the win.

Reece Tucknott finished in the top 20 while Conor Leahy finished in the top 35.

Kieran Scott, Matthew and Timothy Harvey also had great races finishing inside the top 20.

Aron Barclay, Sebastian Barrett and Chester Hinton all raced on the day as well.

Andrew Bannister finished second in the Men Tricycle MT2 individual time trial.

Criterium – Wednesday 3rd January 

Durbridge was also part of the Mitchelton Scott team which lead Caleb Ewan to another victory in the men’s elite criterium. Durbridge sat on the front of the pack all day helping control the race. Freiberg attacked and was in a break for most of the race, until it was swallowed up by the peloton.

Freiberg took home the Altus Traffic Sprint Competition.

Theo Yates finished seventh and Anthony Giacoppo eighth.

Cameron Meyer, Jackson Mawby, Mathew Upton and Nicholas Graham-Dawson were all part of the field.

Erin Nolan finished 21st in the Australian Women’s Elite Criterium. Rebecca Wiasak won the title while Sarah Roy finished second. WA’s Jessica Allen – who came into the race as defending champion – repeatedly attacked throughout the race to help set up the race for Roy to sprint home.

WA road racing champion Erin Kinnealy was also prominent throughout the race for Holden Team Gusto. Sarah Tucknott and Melissa Robinson both started the event.

Welsford has finished third in the under 23 criterium which was won by Cameron Scott.

Bryce Lanigan finished in sixth position while Craig Wiggins was 11th.

Tom McCracken, Tony Doherty Jordan Schmidt, Henry Pennell, Ashley Mackay, Xavier Cooper, Richard Maher and Timother Sellar all started the race.

Aron Barclay finished the under 19 men’s race in 31st position after several attacks throughout the race. Chester Hinton finished in the top 25.

In other news, WA’s Cam Meyer was selected for the 2018 UCI Track World Championships.

Photos: Con Chronis and Ernesto Arriagada / Cycling Australia