Latest News


Contributed by Nick Cowie

Peel Districts Cycling Club hosted the Pinjarra Industrial Estate criterium last Sunday which started in overcast conditions. The State Track titles and the forecast of rain kept the numbers down, particularly in E grade. With only two starters John Mogg and Vanessa Baker. The pair started with D grade to give them some protection from the wind. The expectation was they would be dropped by D grade and the rider who lasted the longest would ride solo to the win. The first seven laps of the race D grade rode at E grade pace of 30kph and Mogg and Baker rode with the pack. Then the pace was suddenly at D grade speed of 35kph. Two laps later, the bell rang to indicate the last lap of the E grade race and Mogg and Baker, were still with D grade. The next lap the pair sprinted out of the bunch, with the youth of Baker taking the win by 0.16 of a second from Mogg, who had 70 years more experience racing than Baker.

Another two flying laps and another close finish in D grade with Ryley Collett taking the bunch sprint by 0.1 of a second from Roger De Pontes, with Samuel Washington third.

C grade was far less civilised, with attacking from the first lap. However, no rider stayed away for more than a lap. While they were short lulls between the attacks, the pace remained high for the full 35 minutes of racing. All 14 starters contested the finish with Jason Giles winning the bunch sprint with Nathan Garbutt second and Ashton Sime third.

The juniors then took to the circuit with Claire Hort taking out the single (1.3 kilometres) lap challenge.

B grade was even more aggressive than C grade, with riders getting off the front of the bunch and staying away for a few laps, before being brought back and another attack getting off the front. Then the heavens opened up, in the pouring rain a group of five riders established a break, working well together they stayed away. In the sprint from this group, Mathew Wardynec took the win, with William Celis second and Craig Deham third.

A grade started a few minutes after B grade. Patrick Saccani-Williams attacked on the first lap, the bunch did not seem worried and let the State 80km Time Trial champion establish a lead. Then the rain came, the chase became disjointed and Saccani-Williams increased his margin. By the time rain cleared with five minutes to race, Saccani-Williams was out of sight of the chasers. In the end, Saccani-Williams won by almost half a lap. In the sprint for second, it was Aron Barclay, edging out Theo Yates.

Next week sees the club racing a 16-kilometre time trial at Hopeland, while some members race the State Criterium Championships at Bayswater. For the full results from last weekends racing and upcoming races visit pdcc.asn.au