Latest News


By Nick Cowie

Last weekend saw the Peel District Cycling Club race at Serpentine Saturday afternoon and the West Coast Masters Cycling Council race the Dog Hill circuit at Baldivis Sunday morning.

On Saturday a four riders breakaway formed in A grade on the second of eight laps of the almost nine-kilometre circuit. The four riders stayed away as the bunch splintered behind. In the run to the line and early attack by Luke Pledger saw him take the win, with Wade Longworth second and Colin Rose third.

B grade saw a stop-start race, as riders attacked, the bunch let them get a small break before reeling them in, the pace would drop before another attack and the chase would resume. With a little over a lap to go Pete Clark launched a solo attack. The bunch kept Clark on a short leash, but not short enough as Clark took the win by 40 metres. With Jack Lightfoot sprinting out the bunch for second, with Mitchell Spencer third.

C grade started at a frantic pace riding faster than B grade, shedding a few riders along the way. The speed kept the attacking to a minimum and in the bunch sprint, it was Anthony Smithson taking the win, with Joseph Laurendi second and Harvey Protheroe third.

Peter Washington attacked on the third of five laps in D grade and he held on to take the win by ten seconds, from Sam Washington second and Mark Watters third.

E grade was the battle of the juniors, in the sprint, Vanessa Baker won by 0.03 second from Campbell McDowell with Scott McDowell third.

On Sunday an early three-rider breakaway in A grade saw the bunch absolutely destroyed in the chase over the final laps, with RickyAndrews from the early break staying away to take the win, with Ian Gregory second and Andrew Lilley third.

In B grade a two-rider break was away for more than three laps, just when it looked like would stay away to the end, the bunch closed the breakdown. In the bunch sprint, it was Steele Bishop OAM taking his third convincing win in a row. Bishop had represented Australia at the 1972 Olympics, was the World Champion in individual pursuit and at 66 was twice the age of some of his competitors. Greg Gale was second and Darren Kinsella third.

If B grade was a case of deja vu, so was C grade. Darren Lee got into the break for the third week in a row this time with Nick Vroomans. With the bunch breathing down their neck on the final lap, Lee attacked and took the win solo. With Jason Hapeta taking the bunch sprint for second, with Steve Ryan third.

D grade saw repeated attempts by Yael Gardner and Adrian Quick to breakaway, but every attempt was quickly shut down. Mark Williamson took the win in the bunch sprint, with Quick second and Jarrad Finnigan third.

E grade saw 11 riders race the 41 kilometres, in the bunch sprint Anthony Clews was too strong for John Cargioni with Mike Barr finishing third.