Latest News


Australia’s time trial success continued at the UCI Road World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain, with West Australian Michael Storer collecting bronze in the under 19 men’s event.  In the women’s event, 2014 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Katrin Garfoot (QLD) was eleventh.

Storer, reigning under 19 time trial Oceania champion secured Australia’s fourth medal of the week with a podium appearance behind gold and silver medallists German Lennard Kamna and Adrien Costa (USA).

“To be right up there, at my first world championships, it is amazing,” said Storer, who started riding bikes at age 12 as his way of getting to school. “I am really happy with my ride, don’t think I could have gone any faster.”

Storer was the twelfth last of 69 riders to set out, and unlike yesterday’s wet and slippery conditions, dry roads greeted all starters for the 29.5km race against the clock.

At the first intermediate check, Storer was seventh fastest in 14mins 43.53secs, 21secs off the leading mark. At the second point, Storer had improved to fifth overall and continued his rise up the time standings over the final kilometres.

He crossed the finish line in 37mins 11.60secs which placed him in the silver medal position, just 13 seconds down on then leader Adrien Costa (USA-36:58.15).

It was a nervous wait for the Perth cyclist with 11 riders still on course, and it appeared he was set for silver until the final starter Lennard Kamna (GER) set a time of 36mins 13.49secs to take the gold and pushing Storer to bronze.

“It was relatively flat, there was one big climb towards the finish, knew I gave it everything you’ve got,” said Storer, who claimed the criterium national title in July and finished fifth in the time trial.

“It was fantastic to see Macey and Campbell yesterday, and I just wanted to give it my best shot, so its great to keep the good outcomes going for Australia.”

“It is the biggest thing I have ever done, biggest event I have been to, right at the top of my career now.”

The Australian Commonwealth Games Association (ACGA) has been a long term supporter of Cycling Australia’s junior cycling programs.

In the women’s time trial, Australia’s lone entrant in the event Garfoot finished eleventh after posting a time of 40mins 11.52secs.  She was just over one minute behind Lisa Brennauer (Germany) who added to her Specialized-Lululemon team’s time trial victory.

Martina Sablikova (CZE) set the early real benchmark of the day in 40mins 13.78secs, with riders moving in and out of the hot seat before Mieke Kroeger (GER) posted 39mins 26.45secs.

The 44th of 49 riders to hit the course, Garfoot went out hard, recording the seventh fastest time of 15mins 12.47secs through the first time check, just 13 seconds slower than the fastest time Ganna Solovey (UKR).

Over the second sector Garfoot slowed to be thirteenth, 50 seconds behind Solovey, before finishing slightly stronger to cross the line in the six fastest time of 40mins 11.52secs.

As the remaining riders finished, Garfoot’s time was good for eleventh place overall, 1min 23secs slower than the winning time of Brennauer (38:48.16). Solovey (39:06.84) took silver and Evelyn Stevens (USA) the bronze in 39mins 09.41secs.

“The plan was to go out hard, which I don’t normally do, and I struggled after half way, but it was a new experience and at least I gave it everything,” said the German-born Garfoot who won time trial bronze on her national team debut at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games last month.

“Yes, there were nerves for me at my first Championships, as it is a big event and there were lot of people out there.

“Not knowing what to expect, not having as much experience still, I will certainly learn from this.

“I will be storing some ideas away from this ahead of next season,” Garfoot said.

A late-comer to the sport of cycling, the 32-year-old Garfoot won the Oceania Road Championships and overall honours in the Subaru National Road Series in her first season of racing in 2013.

She was then awarded a spot on the 2014 JAYCO-AIS Women’s Endurance Squad before signing with professional outfit Orica-AIS in June.

Cycling Australia Senior Women’s Road Coach Martin Barras was pleased with her performance given little time on the world stage.

“Today, the name of the game for us was to go fast and hard and get a feel of what it is like.  And at the first time check, she was only 14 seconds of the best bike riders. She had never gone that quick,” Barras said.

“Yes, she suffered in the middle, but she handed it really well.  Technically she is excellent, there is little work needed there.

“There are a number of big points for us from today and this season.  She has a couple of strong showings this year and they were done so in a conservative way.

“And on the context of the season, she has gone from racing domestically, to signing a pro contract, racing her first professional event in Europe, making a Commonwealth Games team and winning a medal, to making her debut here

“Expectations have be reasonable, and there is work to be done, but she needs to be encouraged by her results already this year,” Barras added.

Racing continues on Wednesday with the men’s elite individual time trial, with South Australia’s Rohan Dennis to contest the 47.1km course.

2014 UCI Road World Championships Event Information

The 2014 UCI Road World Championships will be held in Ponferrada, Spain, from 21-28 September 2014. The Championships consists of 12 events in the elite, under-23 and junior categories in the time trial, road race and team time trial. It is the 81st staging of the Championships and the seventh time that it has been held in Spain.

Join the #aussiecycling conversation

Australian Team for 2014 UCI Road World Championships

Elite Men

  1. Simon Clarke (Selby, VIC / Orica-GreenEDGE)
  2. Rohan Dennis (Vale Park, SA / BMC) Road Race and Time Trial
  3. Cadel Evans (Barwon Heads, VIC / BMC)
  4. Simon Gerrans (Jamieson, VIC / Orica-GreenEDGE)
  5. Adam Hansen (Edmonton, QLD / Lotto-Belisol)
  6. Heinrich Haussler (Inverell, NSW / IAM Cycling)
  7. Matt Hayman (Araluen, NSW / Orica-GreenEDGE)
  8. Michael Matthews (Farrer, ACT / Orica-GreenEDGE)
  9. Rory Sutherland (Canberra, ACT / Tinkoff Bank Saxo-Bank)

Elite Women

  1. Tiffany Cromwell (Upper Sturt, SA / Specialized-lululemon)
  2. Katrin Garfoot (Gold Coast, QLD / Orica-AIS)  Road Race & Time Trial
  3. Rachel Neylan (Adelaide, SA / Jayco-AIS)
  4. Loren Rowney (Molendinar, QLD / Specialized-Lululemon)
  5. Carlee Taylor (Marino, SA / Orica-AIS)
  6. Lizzie Williams (Fitzroy, VIC / Jayco-AIS/Specialized Securitor)

Under 23 Men

  1. Alexander Clements (Launceston, TAS / Jayco-AIS)
  2. Caleb Ewan (Moss Vale, NSW / Jayco-AIS)
  3. Campbell Flakemore (Howrah, TAS / Jayco-AIS / Avanti Racing) Road Race and Time Trial 
  4. Jack Haig (Bendigo, VIC / Jayco-AIS / Avanti Racing)
  5. Robert Power (Midland, WA / Jayco-AIS)
  6. Samuel Spokes (Tamworth, NSW / Etixx Sports Nutrition)

Under 19 Team Men’s

  • Lucas Hamilton (VIC / Ararat District CC / ARARAT / 12-Feb-1996)
  • Jai Hindley (WA / Midland CC / MINDARIE / 05-May-1996)
  • Michael Storer (WA / Midland CC / NORTH PERTH / 28-Feb-1997)
  • James Thompson (QLD / Kangaroo Point CC / WILSTON / 10-Feb-1996)

Under 19 Team Women’s

  • Anna-Leeza Hull (NSW / Northern Rivers CC / MODANVILLE / 15-May-1997)
  • Alexandra Manly (SA / Central District CC / NAIRNE / 28-Feb-1996)
  • Macey Stewart (TAS / Mersey Valley CC / DEVONPORT / 16-Jan-1996)