Latest News

PDCC Club Championship Race Report

By Nick Cowie

Oliver Bleddyn races to the win in A grade.

Saturday at Casuarina saw the final race of the road season for the Peel Districts Cycling Club, the Club Championship.

With the race restricted to club members only, the fields were smaller than usual in most grades, and this had an impact on the racing. Particularly in A grade, with only 7 riders. While the lap times were only slightly slower than usual, the race did not have the attack, counter attack surging.  Instead the constant high pace, keep the riders together and thwarted plans of long range solo attacks. That was until the bell for the final lap when Oliver Bleddyn attacked and Jay Lindorff managed to bridge across. The duo kept the pace up as the chasing bunch disintergrated. The pair had enough time to play tactical games in the final straight before Bleddyn sprinted away to take the win. Lindorf was second and Bernie Swart was third.

B grade had a much larger field and was a much more dynamic race, with attacks, counter attacks ,the bunch splitting and reforming. The bunch was together on the final lap, before an attack by Steven Knight and Ben Mears saw the pair go clear, in the run to the line Knight took the win, with Mears second and Micheal White leading the bunch home 13 seconds later for third.

After a steady first lap, the pace picked up on the second lap on C grade and midway through the third lap the bunch had split up. It became a two up time trial with Travis Lord and Mathew Vaisey being chased by Corbin Bright and David Baker, with individual riders behind. Before Lord rode away from Vaisey to take the solo win. Vaisey stayed clear of the chasers for second, with Bright taking out the two up sprint for third.

D grade was similar, aggressive riding on the second lap saw the bunch break up, midway through the third lap it was again a two up time trial with the father son combination of Peter and Sam Washington being chased by Nick Cowie and Callum McGillivray. The Washingtons slowly increased their lead each lap. Before Sam Washington rode away to claim the win. Peter was second and McGillivray third.

E grade saw young Campbell McDowell ride faster than some D grade riders on his way to win D grade. Scott McDowell was second and Deb Reid third.

The next race on the Peel Districts Cycling Calendar is the Peel Classic racing from Dwellingup to Boddington and return on 6 October.