Latest News


Cycling Australia is pleased to confirm the seven riders selected to the National Junior Team for the 2014 UCI Road World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain from September 21-28, 2014.

The team boasts one returning member from the 2013 UCI Road World Championships in time trial bronze medallist Alexandra Manly (SA), plus six National road team debutants.

Manly, who will also represent Australia at the 2014 UCI Junior Track World Championships in Korea in August, claimed the 2014 Oceania time trial crown in February, in addition to two podium appearances at the National Championships in July.

2014 time trial and junior mountain climbing national champion Anna-Leeza Hull (NSW) earns her maiden national team guernsey, while road national champion and 2014 junior track worlds team member Macey Stewart (TAS) rounds out the under 19 selections.

Victories in the Oceania road, national road, and national mountain climbing Championships secured Lucas Hamilton (VIC) his first national selection.

Joining Hamilton in the under 19 men’s team is Michael Storer (WA), Jai Hindley (WA) and James Thompson (QLD), with the trio all boasting a number of top five finishes at the 2014 Oceania and National Championships.

The 81st UCI Road World Championships consists of 12 events for elite, under-23 and under 19 cyclists. Official website

National Junior Team for the 2014 UCI Road World Championships

2014 Men Junior Road Team:

  • Lucas Hamilton (VIC) / Ararat District CC / ARARAT / 12-Feb-1996
  • Jai Hindley (WA) / Midland CC / MINDARIE / 05-May-1996
  • Michael Storer (WA) / Midland CC / NORTH PERTH / 28-Feb-1997
  • James Thompson (QLD) / Kangaroo Point CC / WILSTON / 10-Feb-1996

National Junior Men Road Coach: David Sanders (VIC)

2014 Women Junior Road World Team:

  • Anna-Leeza Hull (NSW) / Northern Rivers CC / MODANVILLE / 15-May-1997
  • Alexandra Manly (SA) / Central District CC / NAIRNE / 28-Feb-1996
  • Macey Stewart (TAS) / Mersey Valley CC / DEVONPORT / 16-Jan-1996

National Junior Women Road Coach: Donna Rae-Szalinski (VIC)

The Cycling Australia elite men’s, elite women’s and under 23 long teams will be announced on August 26.

Cycling Australia Online