Latest News


This past weekend, the south western New South Wales town of Wagga Wagga hosted Australia’s top young cyclists for the 2013 Cycling Australia U15 & U17 Road National Championships.

Contested over three days from Friday to Sunday, some great racing was seen as 2013 Championship crowns were decided in the time trial, road race and criterium.


The day was dominated by a strong performance of the Western Australian contingent, winning three of the four gold medals on offer on the opening day of the Championships.  Ride of the day contender – Michael Storer (WA) who claimed the U17 Men’s ITT in an amazing average speed of 45.21

2013 Champions

  • Junior Women U15 8km Individual Road Time Trial – Sarah TUCKNOTT Mountain Bike Australia (37.25 / 12:53.21)
  • Junior Men U15 10km Individual Road Time Trial – Craig WIGGINS Albany CC (40.71 /  14:44.41)
  • Junior Women U17 10km Individual Road Time Trial – Hollee SIMONS Bathurst CC (38.21 / 15:42.08)
  • Junior Men U17 14km Individual Road Time Trial – Michael STORER Midland CC (45.21 / 18:34.84)

Individual Time Trial – Results


Early cloud cover looked like it would produce rain, however thankfully it turned into a beautiful sunny and warm day by the time the first event got under way. Testing courses for all categories, with several climbs in each circuit, including a dirt section on the U17 men and women course of around 1km added a different element to the race, which was enjoyed by the riders.

Event snippets:

  • JM15: Breakaway went on the last climb, around 6km from the finish. The gap got out to around 22 seconds, and the main peloton couldn’t catch them before the finish.
  • JW15: Similar to the U15 men’s race, with 6km to go five riders decided to break away on the final climb, with a smaller bunch of riders chasing. Until the last climb, the ladies were averaging around 40kph.
  • JM17: A fall around 7km from the finish caused a little hesitation from the bunch.  Couple of breaks but nothing established throughout the race which culminated in a sprint finish to the line.
  • JW17: The race went out of Wantabadgery and into a major climb, and it split the bunch straight away.  A group of of around 15 formed which stayed away until the finish, except for two ladies that fell in the sprint coming into the finish.

2013 Champions

  • Junior Men U15 30km Road Race – Craig WIGGINS Albany CC
  • Junior Women U15 30km Road Race – Chloe HEFFERNAN Illawarra CC
  • Junior Women U17 40km Road Race – Danielle MCKINNIREY Sturt Holdfast Marion CC
  • Junior Men U17 60km Road Race – Matthew JACKSON 225 Racing CC WA

Road Race – Results


A great fast and technical city circuit for the juniors, with more sunny skies appreciated by the cyclists and great crowd of spectators alike.

Event snippets:

  • U15 – A Victorian double in the U15 events started the final day of the Championships, with Alana FIELD and Issac BUCKELL taking the gold.
  • U17 – In the women’s event, after a clip of wheels Niken JEFFERIES crashed at the mid way point, but was allowed a lap out by the officials. In an amazing ride when she cam  back in, Jefferies managed to find her way to the front of the bunch on the final lap and sprint to victory. The men’s event was a fast a furious race from the get go with several breakaways attempted throughout.  A large group of riders formed to contest the sprint finish where Cameron SCOTT took the victory.

2013 Champions: 

  • Junior Women U15 20mins +2 laps Criterium – Alana FIELD Carnegie Caulfield CC
  • Junior Men U15 20mins + 2 laps Criterium – Isaac BUCKELL Bendigo CC
  • Junior Women U17 30mins + 3 laps Criterium – Niken JEFFERIES 225 Racing CC
  • Junior Men U17 30mins + 3 laps Criterium – Cameron SCOTT Illawarra CC

Criterium – Results

 The Championships were promoted by Cycling Australia in partnership with Cycling New South Wales, the Wagga Wagga Cycling Club and the Wagga Wagga City Council.