Latest News


Annual Stan Gurney Memorial Race won by the 2012 National Australian Criterium Champion Anthony Giacoppo.

The Stan Gurney V.C Memorial Race is one of the longest running cycling races in Western Australia, in its 70th year is named in honour of a young Western Australian cycling devotee, turned soldier killed in 1942 during the Second World War. Originally the race was a long distance road race but in recent years has been staged as a criterium event within Midland. The Stan Gurney Cycle Race has attracted many famous Western Australian and Australian cycling names with some legendary winners.

The Midland Cycle Club proudly host this event each year, this year the race attracted over 150 riders, a fantastic tribute to the importance of this race to West Australian cyclists. An Anzac Day service conducted by the Bellvue RSL was held prior to the event and presentations on the day were made by special guest and niece of Stan Gurney, Val Perkins.

Congratulations to Anthony Giacoppo, winner of the Stan Gurney (VC) Memorial race. Anthonys name will now be included on the Stan Gurney Perpetual Trophy and recorded in Cycling WA history alongside other WA Legends.

Well done to all the riders who competed on this criterium circuit, one of the more challenging criterium races in the cycling calendar.

Full results available here.

Stan Gurney Memorial Race Results
25th April 2013
A Grade

1. Anthony GIACOPPO
2. Adam SEMPLE
3. Jonathan BOLTON

A Grade Women

1. Amanda NABI

B Grade Men

1. Darcy PIROTTA
2. ThomasUNICOMB
3. Samuel RUBERY

B Grade Women

1. Jessica SELLAR
2. Cassia HIGGS
3. Alicia BUCHANAN

C Grade Men

1. Andrew LAWRENCE
2. Robert HURST

D Grade

1. Paul BAKKER
2. Thomas PERRY
3. Shay LEARY

E Grade

1. Tomas HAYWARD
2. Sebastian BARRETT
3. Ross DYER