Latest News


The cyclassic has been a proving ground for many of Australia’s best cyclist such as WA’s own Stephen Hall and Craig Wiggins as well as Interstate riders such as Alex Symth and Caleb Ewan. Read about some of the winners and fastest times of Australia’s Richest Handicap:

  • Paul Miller is the 1988 Australian Road Race National Champion. Paul Has won the Cyclassic twice (1994 and 1995) and recorded the fastest time 3 times (1994, 1995 and 1998). Meaning that he is the only person to win the Chas Egan Memorial race back to back as well as the only person to have the set the fastest time 3 times.
  • Stephen Hall won and recorded the fastest time in 2010. He has since gone on to race around the world racing against some of the best athletes in the world. Winning track and criterium rider of the year in USA twice. As well as winning the Australian Team Pursuit title 2017 with Western Australia.
  • Caleb Ewan won the Chas Egan Memorial race in 2012. He has since gone on to ride and win stages of the Tour Down Under, Vuelta a Espana and the Giro d’Italia. He has also achieved 2nd in the world’s oldest bike race, Milan San Remo.
  • Alex Symth currently has the record time for the Chas Egan Memorial race 2hr 32min 05sec) a time still not yet beaten. He now rides for Drapac-Cannondale Holistic Development Team at races such as the Herald Sun Tour, Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race and the Tour of Thailand amongst many other UCI level races. He proudly represented Malta in the 2018 Commonwealth games.
  • Craig Wiggins an upcoming star of professional cycling used the Goldfields cyclassic to set up a successful stint in Europe which included wins at the Wielerronde van Albrandswaard and the Ronde van Oudenbosch. Before coming back to Australia and being successful in the National Road Series winning Stage 1 of the tour of Gippsland.
  • Steele van Hoff won the first ever edition of the Leonora golden wheels in 2011 in a time of 2hr 16min 52sec. He then went on to get 3rd at the national criterium the following year. In 2018 won the Commonwealth Games road race after fracturing his back 7 weeks the race.
  • Luke Durbridge recorded the fastest time in 2009 while riding for the PlanB Financial Services racing team. He then went on to win the world junior madison and Road time trial that year. Before becoming multiple world championships in the junior and senior ranks. He has gone on to become an established member of the Mitchelton Scott team and has started and completed in 2 giro d’italia’s (2013, 2015) as well as 4 tours de Frances (2014, 2015, 2016, 2018)
  • Michael Freiberg successfully won the overall of the 2017 Cyclassic by winning the Chas Egan Memorial and placing highly on stage 2 to secure the overall. Freiberg said that he was thrilled to win the historic Goldfields Cyclassic. Frieberg since that win has gone on to win the 2019 Australian National Road Championships.
  • Anthony Giacoppo won the Chas Egan memorial race in 2011 in a time of 2hr 40min 52sec while riding for his Genesys Wealth Advisers. The following year he went on to win the 2012 Australian National Criterium Championship. He continued to have a successful career up until he retired from professional bike racing at the end of 2018.
  • Theo Yates won the 2017 Leonora Golden Wheels. He has since gone on to have a top 5 finish at the National Criterium, ride the Herald Sun Tour, and win a stage of the Tour of Iran.
  • Darcy Pirotta won the Chas Egan Memorial race in 2016 he then has gone on to ride in UCI level 1.2 races around Europe getting some great results. He also got a 6th place at the 2019 Australian Road Nationals in the U23 category winning the bunch sprint.
  • Sam Welsford won the 2014 Chas Egan Memorial. He currently rides for the continental team Australian Cycling Academy (ACA) Where he competes in NRS level racing he has also won many titles on the track. He is the current World Track Champion and is also a world record holder on the track in the team pursuit.
  • Scott Guyton won the race in 2004 while racing for the Wismilak this lead to a successful season with multiple top placings in the New Zealand tours and a 2nd on stage 5 of the tour of United Arab Emirates. He continued to race around New Zealand successfully with multiple podium placings at the Tour of Northland.
  • Brett Aitkin won the 2003 Goldfields Cyclassic it was one of his last races before shortly retiring in 2004. He now enjoys a successful career the head coach of SAIS (South Australian Institute of Sport).
  • Erin Nolan took out women’s line honours on in 2017, she has since gone on to win Women’s line honours at the Melbourne to Warrnambool, get top 10 at the Oceania cycling championships and compete competitively at many National Road Racing Series events.
  • Corrie Fillmore took out women’s line honours in 2018.  She rides for the dome coffees cycling team and qualified for the 2018 world grand fondo championships. She also races locally regularly gets podiums in the local racing scene.
  • Rebecca Mackay who is a National and Oceanic Time trial champion won the Women’s overall in 2016 using this race as a part of her preparation for the 2017 Road cycling nationals.
  • Timothy Sellar won the Leonora Golden Wheels and the overall in 2016 as apart of the Satalyst Verve Racing Team. He has also won the prestigious Pemberton Classic road race in 2018 ahead of Micheal Frieberg and Craig Wiggins. He currently rides for the Dome Coffees racing team drawing equal on points in the Ring Criterium Series and only getting 2nd place because of countback.
  • Eddy Hollands has had a long and very successful career leading up to his win in the Chas Egan Memorial race in 2006. He raced successfully in the USA in 1997 alongside fellow and future winner of the Chas Egan Memorial Race Brett Atiken. In 1994 and 1998 he piloted Pual Clohessy to 4 World titles and 2 World records. He has also raced in Asia in 2003 – 2004 before racing in Europe in 2005 and 2006.
  • Henry Pennell won the Chas Egan Memorial Race in 2015 in a time of 2hr 48min 16sec when he was racing for the Navitas Satalyst Verve racing team he later that year went on to race the Tour of China a UCI 2.1 race. Achieving good success with the team.
  • Craig Davies is a local from Kalgoorlie when he won the Leonora Golden Wheels in a time of 2hr 35min 38sec and the Overall of the Goldfields Cyclassic 5hr 23min 54sec. Having to combine his training around full-time shift work for the local gold smelter, Craig showed that anyone has the ability to win Goldfields Cyclassic.

Full list of past winners