Latest News


Australia is celebrating a successful 2015 UCI Track Cycling Masters World Championships campaign after finishing third on the medal tally in Manchester.

Australia claimed 38 medals in total, including 13 gold medals, 14 silver and 11 bronze to finish behind hosts Great Britain and the USA.


It was a green and gold rush the men’s 45-49 category, with Australia claiming three of the five events. Daniel Rickard claimed gold in sprint, Chris Murray won the time trial, while Matthew Glanville clinched the points race. Glanville also picked up silver in the scratch race.

Geoff Stoker won the men’s 50-54 sprint title and took silver in the time trial, while Geoffrey Baxter bagged two silvers in the points and scratch races.

Gary Mandy took out the men’s 55-59 time trial event for the second straight year and collected silver in the sprint.

Australia had dual double gold medallists in the men’s 60-64 category, with David Wilmott winning both the sprint and time for the second year in a row. Ivan Colig won both the points and scratch races, and grabbed a third medal with silver in the pursuit.

In the men’s 45-54 team sprint, Dan Rickard, Geoff Stoker and Chris Murray won gold, while Jayson Austin, Matthew Glanville, Andrew Patten and Geoffrey Baxter took silver in the 45-54 team pursuit.

Darrell Wheeler claimed a trio of medals in the pursuit, points and scratch races in the men’s 70-74 category.


In the women’s events Australia claimed three gold, kick-started by Renee Covington who won the combined 40-49 women’s sprint event over compatriot Catherine Hooton.

Jessica Laws won the women’s 40-44 time trial title over Covington, while Melinda Symon won bronze in the individual pursuit.

Deborah Coulls showed her versatility by pocketing scratch silver and bronze in both the sprint and points race in the women’s 50-54 category.

Meriel Custance claimed the women’s 55-59 scratch gold medal and took bronze in the time trial.

In the women’s team events, Jessica Laws, Deborah Coulls and Melinda Symon won bronze in the open team pursuit, while Laws doubled up for bronze with Rebecca Wheadon in the open team sprint.


See all results here.


For full galleries, visit the official website.


Relive the action via the official YouTube channel.